Data center · Facility
AnnouncedMicrosoft data center in Lowell Township, Michigan
Announced Jan 2026, in Kent County. No permit on record yet.
No permit on record yet. First seen Aug 15, 2026.
Where
Lowell Township, Kent County, Michigan.
Exact site not public. Shown at township level.
- Work it brings
- Electrical, mechanical, low-voltage, site, fiber
- The trades a data center build hires, from the site work to the last mile of fiber.
- Who bills here
- Microsoft
- The operator, per Compute Atlas and Server Country. No public record names its general contractor yet. The carriers show here when a record names them.
Nearest other build
Microsoft Gaines Township Data Center
14.2 miles away
Builds in Kent County
Published builds in the Kapwork Grow tracker, this one included. Published Nov 3, 2026.
Builds in Michigan
Proposed, approved, under construction or expanding, this one included. Kapwork Grow tracker, published Nov 3, 2026.
U.S. data center construction
August 2026, seasonally adjusted annual rate, preliminary. Up 73.2% from $49.05B in August 2025; 63.3% of private office construction. U.S. Census Bureau, C30, released Oct 1, 2026.
What this means for you
Same customers, bigger invoices.
The electrical, mechanical and fiber work on this campus bills Microsoft, its GC and the carriers you already know. Certify the invoices behind it, and funders compete to fund them.
An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
Who your invoice goes to
- MicrosoftOperator
- General contractorNot named yet
- CarriersNot named yet
- UtilityNot named yet
Key facts
- Stage
- ProposedCompute Atlas · Aug 8, 2026; Server Country · Sep 24, 2026
- Reported investment
- $1BKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
- Announced
- Jan 2026Server Country · Sep 24, 2026
- Location
- Lowell Township, Kent County, MichiganCompute Atlas · Aug 8, 2026; Server Country · Sep 24, 2026
- Location precision
- Street address reportedKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
- Facility type
- HyperscaleKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
What the public record lacks: the megawatts, the building area, the jobs, the general contractor's name, the completion date and the utility.
Who's involved
- Operator
- MicrosoftCompute Atlas · Aug 8, 2026; Server Country · Sep 24, 2026
- General contractor
- Not named in a public record yet
- Carriers
- Appear here as the records name them
How far along it is
- · Server Country
Announced
- · Kapwork's date
First seen in the Kapwork Grow tracker (its first snapshot)
- Date not reported · Server Country
Reported as announced
Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred. Dates marked Kapwork's date come from the tracker's own snapshots, not from the sources.
More builds
Same operator
In Michigan
The Kapwork Grow tracker lists 26 published builds in Michigan, as published Nov 3, 2026; these are the ones linked to this record.
Questions this page answers
Is Microsoft Lowell Township Data Center under construction?
Who is building Microsoft Lowell Township Data Center?
Which carriers serve Microsoft Lowell Township Data Center?
Already invoice Microsoft?
Crews on a campus like this invoice the GC and the carriers in their own portals. Certify the unpaid invoices. Kapwork proves they're real so funders fund them sooner while the GC takes its time. Free for businesses.
- Multiple offers
- No notice of assignment
- Free for businesses
Sources, updates and data
Compute Atlas · Server Country · Kapwork Grow tracker · U.S. Census C30
Where this comes from
- Compute Atlas facility record (Kubiak, E., 2026, CC BY 4.0)
Record microsoft-lowell-township-mi · As of Aug 8, 2026 - Michigan Public (cited by Compute Atlas)
As of Aug 8, 2026 - Server Country project record (CC BY 4.0)
Record 0727 · As of Sep 24, 2026 - Kapwork Grow tracker record, merged from the sources listed here (free account)
Merged view of the sources here · snapshot Nov 2, 2026 - U.S. Census Bureau, Construction Spending (Value of Construction Put in Place, C30)
National data center spending · August 2026 · released Oct 1, 2026 - Kapwork Grow tracker
Counts, nearest build and first-seen dates (Kapwork's dates), published Nov 3, 2026. Tracker snapshot Nov 2, 2026; sources fetched: Compute Atlas Sep 24, 2026; Server Country Sep 24, 2026; Pennsylvania DEP Sep 24, 2026; EPA ECHO Sep 24, 2026; Texas Comptroller Sep 24, 2026; UVA DC-SENSE Sep 24, 2026; Public Evidence Project Sep 24, 2026.
What each source reports
- Compute Atlas: Proposed
- Server Country: Proposed, as “Microsoft Lowell Charter Township Data Center”
Updates
- Date not reported: Reported as announced. Server Country
- Aug 15, 2026: First seen in the Kapwork Grow tracker (its first snapshot). Kapwork's date
- Jan 2026: Announced. Server Country
Limitations and interpretation
- This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-11-02. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
- Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
- An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
- Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.
“Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.
Nearest build: Haversine great-circle distance on the tracker latitude and longitude, in statute miles, rounded to 0.1. First-seen dates: first_seen: the earliest committed snapshot of data/dcfo.sqlite holding any of the facility's source keys (source:source_id), narrowed to the nightly run day by the alert sender's facility_new events when they are available. status_first_seen: the start of the unbroken run of snapshots, ending at this one, in which a facility sharing a source key had the current status, narrowed by the latest status_changed event to that status. Dates are Kapwork's, not the sources'.
What we don't know yet
- The megawatts, the building area, the jobs, the general contractor's name, the completion date and the utility.
- The carriers that serve the campus.
- How the operator and its GC pay their contractors: portal, terms, days to pay.
Spot an error? Tell us
Cite: Kapwork Grow, “Microsoft Lowell Township Data Center”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/microsoft-lowell-township-data-center-mi-dc_4781664daa92, materially updated Nov 3, 2026.
Every data center build in the directory, in one place.
Search by company, place or trade.