Skip to content

Data center · Facility

Announced

Microsoft data center in Gaines Township, Michigan

Updated Nov 3, 2026Sources: Compute Atlas; Server Country; Kapwork Grow tracker

Announced Oct 2024, in Kent County. No permit on record yet.

No permit on record yet. First seen Aug 15, 2026.

Where

Gaines Township, Kent County, Michigan.

Exact site not public. Shown at township level.

Gaines TownshipKent County
Reported capacity
6MW
Planned, as Server Country (Sep 24, 2026) reports it. May be planned, not energised, capacity.
Work it brings
Electrical, mechanical, low-voltage, site, fiber
The trades a data center build hires, from the site work to the last mile of fiber.
Who bills here
Microsoft
The operator, per Compute Atlas and Server Country. No public record names its general contractor yet. The carriers show here when a record names them.
  • Nearest other build

    Switch Pyramid Campus

    3.8 miles away

  • Builds in Kent County

    5

    Published builds in the Kapwork Grow tracker, this one included. Published Nov 3, 2026.

  • Builds in Michigan

    26

    Proposed, approved, under construction or expanding, this one included. Kapwork Grow tracker, published Nov 3, 2026.

  • U.S. data center construction

    $84.95B a year

    August 2026, seasonally adjusted annual rate, preliminary. Up 73.2% from $49.05B in August 2025; 63.3% of private office construction. U.S. Census Bureau, C30, released Oct 1, 2026.

What this means for you

Same customers, bigger invoices.

The electrical, mechanical and fiber work on this campus bills Microsoft, its GC and the carriers you already know. Certify the invoices behind it, and funders compete to fund them.

An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.

Who your invoice goes to

  • MicrosoftOperator
  • General contractorNot named yet
  • CarriersNot named yet
  • UtilityNot named yet

Key facts

Stage
ProposedCompute Atlas · Sep 9, 2026; Server Country · Sep 24, 2026
Reported capacity
6 MWServer Country · Sep 24, 2026
Site area
316 acresKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
Reported investment
$45.3MKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
Announced
Oct 2024Server Country · Sep 24, 2026
Location
Gaines Township, Kent County, MichiganCompute Atlas · Sep 9, 2026; Server Country · Sep 24, 2026
Location precision
Street address reportedKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
Community response
Local opposition reportedKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
Power source
Grid powerKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
Facility type
HyperscaleKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
Incentives reported
Cba; OtherKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026

What the public record lacks: the building area, the jobs, the general contractor's name and the completion date.

Who's involved

Operator
MicrosoftCompute Atlas · Sep 9, 2026; Server Country · Sep 24, 2026
Utility
Consumers EnergyKapwork Grow tracker · Nov 2, 2026
General contractor
Not named in a public record yet
Carriers
Appear here as the records name them

How far along it is

  1. · Server Country

    Announced

  2. · Kapwork's date

    First seen in the Kapwork Grow tracker (its first snapshot)

  3. Date not reported · Server Country

    Reported as announced

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred. Dates marked Kapwork's date come from the tracker's own snapshots, not from the sources.

Questions this page answers

Is Microsoft Gaines Township Data Center under construction?
No permit record shows it yet, so this page prints it as announced. Compute Atlas (Sep 9, 2026) and Server Country (Sep 24, 2026) report it as proposed.
Who is building Microsoft Gaines Township Data Center?
Microsoft is the operator. No public record names the general contractor yet. It shows here the day one does.
Which carriers serve Microsoft Gaines Township Data Center?
No public record names them yet. They show here when a filing does.

Already invoice Microsoft?

Crews on a campus like this invoice the GC and the carriers in their own portals. Certify the unpaid invoices. Kapwork proves they're real so funders fund them sooner while the GC takes its time. Free for businesses.

  • Multiple offers
  • No notice of assignment
  • Free for businesses

Sources, updates and data

Compute Atlas · Server Country · Kapwork Grow tracker · U.S. Census C30

Where this comes from

What each source reports

  • Compute Atlas: Proposed
  • Server Country: Proposed, 6 MW, as “Microsoft Gaines Township Site”

Updates

  • Date not reported: Reported as announced. Server Country
  • Aug 15, 2026: First seen in the Kapwork Grow tracker (its first snapshot). Kapwork's date
  • Oct 2024: Announced. Server Country

Limitations and interpretation

  • This record is the Kapwork Grow tracker's merged view of a facility, from the tracker snapshot built 2026-11-02. Facts tagged KW are the tracker's resolved values; the per-source rows it was merged from are listed under Sources and on the tracker record.
  • Sources on this record: Compute Atlas: Kubiak, E. (2026). Compute Atlas [Data set]. https://doi.org/10.5281/zenodo.22284476 (CC BY 4.0) · Server Country, https://servercountry.org/data/ (CC BY 4.0). Every source is licensed for commercial use with attribution.
  • An announced or permitted build is not a contract, an open bid or a purchase order.
  • Capacity figures are as reported by the cited sources and may describe planned rather than energised capacity.

“Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

Nearest build: Haversine great-circle distance on the tracker latitude and longitude, in statute miles, rounded to 0.1. First-seen dates: first_seen: the earliest committed snapshot of data/dcfo.sqlite holding any of the facility's source keys (source:source_id), narrowed to the nightly run day by the alert sender's facility_new events when they are available. status_first_seen: the start of the unbroken run of snapshots, ending at this one, in which a facility sharing a source key had the current status, narrowed by the latest status_changed event to that status. Dates are Kapwork's, not the sources'.

What we don't know yet

  • The building area, the jobs, the general contractor's name and the completion date.
  • The carriers that serve the campus.
  • How the operator and its GC pay their contractors: portal, terms, days to pay.

Spot an error? Tell us

Cite: Kapwork Grow, “Microsoft Gaines Township Data Center”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/datacenters/microsoft-gaines-township-data-center-mi-dc_97b34c09efbb, materially updated Nov 3, 2026.

Report an error on this page.

Every data center build in the directory, in one place.

Search by company, place or trade.