Skip to content
Federal contract

Howard W. Pence, Inc. · Heavy civil construction · Sault Sainte Marie, MI

Howard W. Pence, Inc.Sault Sainte Marie, Chippewa County, MIUpdated

Department of the Army signed a $5.2M contract with Howard W. Pence, Inc. on Dec 18, 2025 for heavy civil construction in Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan. The work is planned to end May 2027.

Obligated
$5.2M ($5,249,432)
Planned end
May 1, 2027 (2027-05-01)

Who's on this contract

Named in the award record. The prime decides its own subcontracts.

Schedule

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.

  1. in 7 mo

    Planned endPlanned

  2. Today

    Latest snapshot

    Last material change Oct 22, 2026.

  3. 10 mo ago

    Contract signed

    Department of the Army signed this delivery order with Howard W. Pence, Inc..

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

  4. 10 mo ago

    Work startsPlanned

Record quality

Sources cited
2
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Contract record

USAS USAspending.gov (FPDS)

Contract

Prime contractor
Howard W. Pence, Inc.Prime contractor · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006USAspending.gov recipient profile of the primeAs of Jul 2, 2026
Obligated so far
$5,249,432Obligated so far · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006
Agency
Department of DefenseAgency · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006
Buying office
Department of the ArmyBuying office · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006
Contract type
Delivery orderContract type · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006
Award ID (PIID)
W911XK26FA006Award ID (PIID) · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006

Work

Work
Heavy civil constructionWork · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006
Industry (NAICS)
237990 Other heavy and civil engineering constructionIndustry (NAICS) · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006
Product or service (PSC)
Y1JZ Construction of miscellaneous buildingsProduct or service (PSC) · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006

Dates

Signed
2025-12-18Signed · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
Work starts
2025-12-17Work starts · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
Planned end
2027-05-01Planned end · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006Planned date — not evidence that work occurred.

Place of performance

City
Sault Sainte MarieCity · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006
County
ChippewaCounty · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006
State
MichiganState · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006
ZIP code
49783ZIP code · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006

What the contract is for

Soo facility site improvements

What the contract is for · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 2, 2026 · Record: W911XK26FA006

Sources, method and limits

Show 2 sourcesHide

Sources and evidence

  1. USAS
  2. USAS

Limitations and interpretation

  • A contract award is not an open bid. The prime contractor decides its own subcontracts, and some may already be let.
  • The amount is what the agency has obligated so far, as USAspending.gov reports it. Options and later modifications can change it.
  • The place of performance is as the contracting officer entered it in FPDS. For some awards it is the contracting office, not the work site.
  • Defense contracts appear about 90 days after signature, so the newest Defense awards are not here yet.
  • Source: USAspending.gov, from the Federal Procurement Data System (FPDS). US government data, public domain.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “Howard W. Pence, Inc. · Heavy civil construction · Sault Sainte Marie, MI”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/federal/howard-w-pence-inc-sault-sainte-marie-mi-fa_277d8d0e54e5, materially updated Oct 22, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

A contract award is not an open bid. The prime decides its own subcontracts, and the amount is what the agency has obligated so far. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

More federal contracts

Kapwork Grow

Every new federal construction and telecom contract in the directory, in one place.

Search by prime, agency, trade or place.

Browse all contracts