Skip to content
Federal contract

M. A. Mortenson Company · Commercial building construction · Edinburg, TX

M. A. Mortenson CompanyEdinburg, Hidalgo County, TXUpdated

Department of the Army signed a $660.5M contract with M. A. Mortenson Company on Mar 6, 2026 for commercial building construction in Edinburg, Texas. The work is planned to end Sep 2028.

Obligated
$660.5M ($660,472,567)
Planned end
Sep 5, 2028 (2028-09-05)

Who's on this contract

Named in the award record. The prime decides its own subcontracts.

Schedule

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.

  1. in ~2 yr

    Planned endPlanned

  2. Today

    Latest snapshot

    Last material change Oct 22, 2026.

  3. 7 mo ago

    Work startsPlanned

  4. 7 mo ago

    Contract signed

    Department of the Army signed this definitive contract with M. A. Mortenson Company.

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

Record quality

Sources cited
2
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Contract record

USAS USAspending.gov (FPDS)

Contract

Prime contractor
M. A. Mortenson CompanyPrime contractor · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011USAspending.gov recipient profile of the primeAs of Jul 10, 2026
Obligated so far
$660,472,567Obligated so far · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011
Agency
Department of DefenseAgency · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011
Buying office
Department of the ArmyBuying office · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011
Contract type
Definitive contractContract type · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011
Award ID (PIID)
W9126G26CA011Award ID (PIID) · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011

Work

Work
Commercial building constructionWork · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011
Industry (NAICS)
236220 Commercial and institutional building constructionIndustry (NAICS) · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011
Product or service (PSC)
Y1DB Construction of laboratories and clinicsProduct or service (PSC) · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011

Dates

Signed
2026-03-06Signed · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
Work starts
2026-03-06Work starts · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
Planned end
2028-09-05Planned end · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011Planned date — not evidence that work occurred.

Place of performance

City
EdinburgCity · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011
County
HidalgoCounty · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011
State
TexasState · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011
ZIP code
78539ZIP code · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011

What the contract is for

Design and construction of a new world screwworm (nws) facility to produce 300 million sterile flies per week.

What the contract is for · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Jul 10, 2026 · Record: W9126G26CA011

Sources, method and limits

Show 2 sourcesHide

Sources and evidence

  1. USAS
  2. USAS

Limitations and interpretation

  • A contract award is not an open bid. The prime contractor decides its own subcontracts, and some may already be let.
  • The amount is what the agency has obligated so far, as USAspending.gov reports it. Options and later modifications can change it.
  • The place of performance is as the contracting officer entered it in FPDS. For some awards it is the contracting office, not the work site.
  • Defense contracts appear about 90 days after signature, so the newest Defense awards are not here yet.
  • Source: USAspending.gov, from the Federal Procurement Data System (FPDS). US government data, public domain.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “M. A. Mortenson Company · Commercial building construction · Edinburg, TX”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/federal/m-a-mortenson-company-edinburg-tx-fa_a216d4cbf5f0, materially updated Oct 22, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

A contract award is not an open bid. The prime decides its own subcontracts, and the amount is what the agency has obligated so far. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

More federal contracts

Kapwork Grow

Every new federal construction and telecom contract in the directory, in one place.

Search by prime, agency, trade or place.

Browse all contracts