Skip to content
Federal contract

Smith Hafeli Inc · Commercial building construction · Marion, IL

Smith Hafeli IncMarion, Williamson County, ILUpdated

Department of Veterans Affairs signed a $22M contract with Smith Hafeli Inc on Sep 18, 2026 for commercial building construction in Marion, Illinois. The work is planned to end Oct 2028.

Obligated
$22M ($22,000,000)
Planned end
Oct 8, 2028 (2028-10-08)

Who's on this contract

Named in the award record. The prime decides its own subcontracts.

  • Prime contractor

    Smith Hafeli Inc

  • Buying office

    Department of Veterans Affairs

Schedule

Dates as reported. Not a bid calendar. A planned date is not evidence that work occurred.

  1. in ~2 yr

    Planned endPlanned

  2. Today

    Latest snapshot

    Last material change Oct 22, 2026.

  3. 4 days ago

    Work startsPlanned

  4. 35 days ago

    Contract signed

    Department of Veterans Affairs signed this definitive contract with Smith Hafeli Inc.

    Event date: · First observed: Not reported

Record quality

Sources cited
2
Summary
From published records
Source as of
Last material change

Contract record

USAS USAspending.gov (FPDS)

Contract

Prime contractor
Smith Hafeli IncPrime contractor · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077USAspending.gov recipient profile of the primeAs of Sep 18, 2026
Obligated so far
$22,000,000Obligated so far · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077
Agency
Department of Veterans AffairsAgency · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077
Buying office
Department of Veterans AffairsBuying office · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077
Contract type
Definitive contractContract type · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077
Award ID (PIID)
36C25526C0077Award ID (PIID) · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077

Work

Work
Commercial building constructionWork · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077
Industry (NAICS)
236220 Commercial and institutional building constructionIndustry (NAICS) · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077
Product or service (PSC)
Z2DA Repair or alteration of hospitals and infirmariesProduct or service (PSC) · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077

Dates

Signed
2026-09-18Signed · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
Work starts
2026-10-19Work starts · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077Reported date — see the source for the event evidenced.
Planned end
2028-10-08Planned end · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077Planned date — not evidence that work occurred.

Place of performance

City
MarionCity · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077
County
WilliamsonCounty · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077
State
IllinoisState · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077
ZIP code
62959ZIP code · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077

What the contract is for

Construct new campus energy center

What the contract is for · USAspending.gov (FPDS)USAspending.gov award record (FPDS data, US government, public domain)As of Sep 18, 2026 · Record: 36C25526C0077

Sources, method and limits

Show 2 sourcesHide

Sources and evidence

  1. USAS
  2. USAS

Limitations and interpretation

  • A contract award is not an open bid. The prime contractor decides its own subcontracts, and some may already be let.
  • The amount is what the agency has obligated so far, as USAspending.gov reports it. Options and later modifications can change it.
  • The place of performance is as the contracting officer entered it in FPDS. For some awards it is the contracting office, not the work site.
  • Defense contracts appear about 90 days after signature, so the newest Defense awards are not here yet.
  • Source: USAspending.gov, from the Federal Procurement Data System (FPDS). US government data, public domain.

Cite or correct this record

Kapwork Grow, “Smith Hafeli Inc · Commercial building construction · Marion, IL”, https://kapwork.com/grow/directory/federal/smith-hafeli-inc-marion-il-fa_c58cdae1d5f1, materially updated Oct 22, 2026.

Report an error in this record and we will check it against the cited sources.

A contract award is not an open bid. The prime decides its own subcontracts, and the amount is what the agency has obligated so far. “Not reported” means missing information, not zero. Completed and withdrawn records can remain available as historical records.

More federal contracts

Kapwork Grow

Every new federal construction and telecom contract in the directory, in one place.

Search by prime, agency, trade or place.

Browse all contracts